Connect Media > Chicago News > South Side > Pritzker Issues Disaster Proclamation for Nine IL Counties

June 2, 2020 Comments Off on Pritzker Issues Disaster Proclamation for Nine IL Counties Views: 754 Chicago News, South Side, Top Chicago

Pritzker Issues Disaster Proclamation for Nine IL Counties

Order Reprints...

Gov. JB Pritzker on Monday issued a disaster proclamation for nine Illinois counties, after Chicago and several other communities requested state assistance when large public protests over George Floyd’s death eventually turned violent. The proclamation covers Cook, Champaign, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Macon, Madison, Sangamon and Will counties, and will remain in effect for 30 days.

‘Thousands of people expressed their pain, fear and rage at the deaths of African Americans, caused by centuries of individual and systemic racism,” according to Pritzker’s office. “After hours of peaceful protests, tensions heightened with aggressive action, including setting cars on fire, vandalizing buildings and looting.”

In Chicago, Mayor Lori Lightfoot said Monday she was talking with the city’s police and health commissioners to determine whether plans to begin reopening businesses on June 3 could move forward as scheduled. She pledged the city’s aid in rebuilding neighborhoods on the South and West sides.

Read the proclamation

Connect With Gov. Pritzker’s Office

Connect With Mayor Lightfoot’s Office

Get CRE News in 150 words

For comments, questions or concerns, please contact Paul Bubny


Comments are closed.