July 21, 2017
Don’t let looks deceive you. While Apple Park’s Glendenning barn appears to merely be an aging simple structure, it actually possesses quite a rich history.
Built in 1916 by the Glendennings, a family of Scottish immigrants, with redwood planks and diligence, the barn (pictured above at the lower center of the photo) serves as a reminder of generations of work, community, and potential. This structure was family owned until the 1960s, when it was sold to Varian Associates. It currently occupies a corner at a soon-to-be-completed 175-acre campus in Cupertino, CA.
The property, now owned by Apple, has not wavered despite facing several attempts at being disassembled. As a result, the Cupertino Historical Association has fought for its secured recognition as a historical site, and it was declared as such in 2004 by Cupertino mayor Orrin Mahoney. According to Donna Austin, president of the Cupertino Historical Society, the barn will continue to serve as a focal point in local history, as well as in the functionality and maintenance on site today.